Mt. Baker Legendary Banked Slalom

Komentáře nejsou povoleny | This entry was posted on Úno 20 2011

Mt. Baker Banked Slalom, also known as the Legendary Banked Slalom (LBS), is a snowboarding contest held annually since 1985 at Mt. Baker Ski Area, in Washington State,United States. The LBS is regarded as the predecessor to the boardercross event, and has been won by some of the biggest names in the history of snowboarding. The winner receives a Duct Tape trophy and an embroidered Carhartt jacket. Terje Håkonsen is the most-winning male snowboarder with 6 trophies, equaling the most-winning female snowboarder, Karleen Jeffery.

The first race was held in 1985, organized by Bob Barci and Tom Sims. With only 14 riders at the top of the 500-foot-long (150 m) course, they raced through 15 gates with only a few spectators present. The decision to put on the banked slalom at Mt. Baker came about because it was one of the few ski areas in North America that welcomed snowboarders at that time.

Photo by Bud Fawcett

„The Legendary Banked Slalom, the sport’s oldest competition,

is doing all it can to keep the roots of snowboarding healthy and strong…“

„The riders who didn’t get to race…glumly recounted

their decisions not to bro-down with a few beers the night before…“


25th anniversary of the Legendary Mt. Baker Banked Slalom.